Lacquered Floor

Lacquered Floor

I feel your arm flex hard around my waist
Your breath moves heavy, hot against my neck
The lacquered floor reflects our love in pace
Alone, I twirl and land against the deck.

I look back up at you with outstretched hand
You reach for me and yet pass through my skin
Perplexed, I right myself in hopes to stand
As light moves through your very core within.

How could I have missed your final moments?
I did not hear the door, the windows close.
What could have stopped this heart from being rent
Left beating now against a floor of stone?

I still hear your feet across the lacquered floor.
My heart still feels a love my eyes ignore.

 

Inspired by true events, and this video:

One thought on “Lacquered Floor

Leave a Reply

