A Glimpse of You

A Glimpse of You

A glimpse of you caught me quite by surprise;
You did not see me standing near the door.
I smiled upon the joy bright in your eyes,
A restfulness too hard to just ignore.

That you have made your life apart from me,
That you have found a love to fill your days;
I toss an empty shell out to the sea,
My animosity now fades away.

You stop and catch my eyes before you leave
And hesitate as sadness fills your eyes.
A moment passes, then I pull my sleeve
And shake my head and smile at you with pride.

Don’t think of us with suff’ring anymore;
I wish you all the love your heart can store.

One thought on “A Glimpse of You

Leave a Reply

