The Cave

The Cave

Awakened by the clicking of the clock
I rise to see the passage of the day.
The hands do disappoint with their loud tocks
Reminding of the vacuum that remains.

A faded memory comes and goes like mist.
I see you dancing, then the specter’s gone.
I stumble as I reach toward what’s missed,
Then fall and lay against the floor till dawn.

The pain inside my chest has weakened though
An emptiness has wrought my heart a cave.
Although I filled the void with a new beau,
Those echoes from our past rose from the grave.

When will this sadness in my heart retreat?
Will Fate find me standing whole and complete?

 

Photo taken in the caves at Thornburn, at Luna Sancta.

One thought on “The Cave

Leave a Reply

